Pat Robertson gives Bush a “C-“

December 25, 2008

This has been something of an ongoing story since the election, but it hasn’t gotten much attention: various evangelicals have been admitting they’re unhappy with one thing or another about George W. Bush. I suppose this is necessary if they’re going to endorse whoever the Republicans pick to run against Obama in 2012.

Some are unhappy with Bush’s doctrine; some are unhappy with his last-minute economic and foreign-policy decisions. But this is the most comprehensive dismissal of Bush I’ve seen:

“Well, it’s hard to assess blame, but I, over the years — I hate to be critical, I mean I am a Republican, and this is the president of the party that I’m a member of — but I think we’ve had some serious goofs along the way,” he said on the Situation Room Tuesday.

“The Katrina matter was terrible. The rebuilding of Iraq has been terrible. The [handling] of the economy right now has been terrible. It hasn’t been handled in what I would consider a professional manner.”

Robertson said history may be kinder to Bush than current opinion. “But I believe I would look at about a C-minus right now if I were grading him,” he said.

Looks like nobody’s ready to say “we’ve been had” just yet.

Also, Robertson said some nice things about Barack Obama. The only question I have is whether Ingrid Schlueter will take time today to blast Robertson and remind us that Barack Obama is pro-choice, or wait until tomorrow.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Responses to “Pat Robertson gives Bush a “C-“”


  1. Pat Robertson’s comments blew me away. In this political culture of hate I guess Bush has become a natural lightning rod for all the hate out there. I don’t think the incoming administration is likely to want this hatred to end too quickly. After all the longer it continues the longer it will be before there is any serious criticism of the big O’s administration. My biggest prediction for the next four years is that if the economy gets worse we will be told it is Bush’s fault and there was nothing the big O could have done. If it improves we will be told it is all due to the genius of the big O. I had other thoughts on this topic yesterday in my blog. If you’re interested drop me your comments.

  2. JMarra Says:

    “If you’re interested drop me your comments.”

    Ideological whining idiots like you aren’t interesting. Boo hoo, nobody loves your cowboy doll anymore. And you really, really hope, in your blackened, shriveled little con heart of hearts, that moldy rat-chewed morsel behind your chicken chest, that it all goes really bad, and that bad things will fall out of the sky and come out of the ground so that you can blame Obama. You don’t care about what happens to America. You just want Obama to fail.

    Sucking stupidity from the rightwing dregs. It just doesn’t ever go away. It’s like mildew.

  3. jmmx Says:

    Good grief,

    We wasted $1 Trillion on an unnecessary war in Iraq, Katrina was a disaster, we have done nothing to combat global warming in the past 8 years, and we are headed into the worst economic situation in 80 years. Bush is the worse president in history – face it.

    And all you can do is complain about pro/anti-choice! There are at least 100,000 people killed in Iraq, perhaps twice that number – is that pro-life? There are somewhere between 2 and 4 million refugees. Do Americans not care about the incredible suffering they cause to other people? And you call yourselves Christians?

    Give me a break!


Leave a Reply

